The Profile: Featuring Ebuka Mic|A man of many laughs (AKA Finest man alive)

It’s my second blog interview guys and I’m excited šŸ˜€.

Firstly, I’d like to thank you- my awesome Bamdora fam,Ā  for all of the love on my debut blog interview with Storyofelvis.Ā  It was very encouraging and a great motivation to continue.

The Profile is not just a segment on the blog, but a platform that’s special to me because of how much I believe in the validity of dreams. Plus I’m always excited to see young people doing amazing things for themselves. So I’m happy to be doing this second interview in this segment of the blog .

Again I present to you : The Profile, one of the new categories I said IĀ  would be introducing to the blog at the beginning of theĀ  year. It’s basically a segment that focuses on finding out more about ourĀ  favs, that’s those who were able to take the bold step to start that dream or passion they believe in, and are doing amazing things for themselves and others (dream heroes is what I’d like to call them).

To that effect, there’ll be series of interviews that would let you in on who they are, what they do and their journey so far. You’ll also get to hear their truth and interact with them on a fun and personal level.

Alright then, without further ado letā€™s get into it!

Today on the blog we’re going to be chatting with a special guest.

He is someone quite popularĀ  to a number of us, for his amazing talentĀ  of spreading sheer joy and leaving us in fits of laughter.Ā  His incredible sense of humour and lovable persona is one of the factors that have made him easily one of ourĀ  favourite on-stage personalities, steadily on the rise. Let’s meet Ebuka MIC.

Screenshot_2020-04-09-03-10-10

Bamdora:Ā Hi, Ebuka I’m really excitedĀ  to have you on The Profile today. Thank you again for honouring my request to have this interview.

Ok! So my readers and I hope to have an amazing time getting to know more about you and your brand. Please be as honest and open as you can be.šŸ˜ŠšŸ˜€

Firstly, Could you please introduce yourself and give us a brief summary of your background ?šŸ˜

Ebuka: My name is Ike-Mgbechi Ebuka but Iā€™m more popularly known as Ebuka MIC. Currently a final year student of Covenant University, studying ICE (Information and Communication Engineering) . Iā€™m a Standup Comedian and Events MC

Bamdora: Alright, short and simple, love it.Ā  A comedian and an MC amazing. So what state are you from? And how’s your family like? Are you the first child?

Ebuka:Ā Anambra State. Iā€™m the firstborn and I have a sister šŸ˜

Bamdora:Ā Aww. Ok, so can you give a brief summary of Ebuka as a child, how would any adult who knew you then, describe you?

Ebuka:Ā Lmao.Ā All na perspective.Ā  Some would say cute like mad!! Some would say fine and sweet!! Some would say funny. My parents would say mischievous. I would say I had my moments with all

Screenshot_2020-04-09-03-10-48

Bamdora:Ā  šŸ˜‚ Interesting, I can only imagine . Ok so we’re going into a round of quickĀ  questions, in the spirit of the challenges going around this season and also to know you better.

Are you ready?

Ebuka:Ā Okay…

Bamdora:Ā Are you a sport person? And what is your favourite sport?

Ebuka:Ā Lol sports person in terms of fan yeah. In terms of playing… I no too carry am for head.

Bamdora:Ā  Lol ok so you’re more of a sports fan than a player yourself

Ebuka:Ā You can say so.

Favorite sport, in terms of being a fan would be football. In terms of playing, volleyball.

Bamdora:Ā Hmm nice. What football team do you support ?

Ebuka:Ā Real MadridšŸ™ŒšŸ»šŸ™ŒšŸ»

Bamdora: Ā Ayy ok. Were you ever in a sports team?

Ebuka:Ā Yeah back in high school. I played football and volleyball. I still play volleyball.

Bamdora:Ā Ouuu nice, ok so next question.Ā Are you the fashion lover ? And what is your favourite fashion accessory?Ā Jackets? Shoes? Sunglasses? …?

Ebuka: I wonā€™t say Iā€™m a fashion lover but I like to look good. It would be watches for me

Bamdora:Ā šŸ˜ in the end looking good is what matters. Watches ok šŸ‘Œ

Screenshot_2020-04-09-03-09-23

Bamdora:Ā What is your dream travel destination?

Ebuka:Ā I really donā€™t have

Bamdora:Ā Music taste: Fav artist, Genre, Song?

Ebuka:Ā Lol I actually listen to all kinds of music based on the job, but I dig gospel

Bamdora: Cool. Ok if you could have 1 super power what would it be?

Ebuka:Ā Who said I donā€™t?šŸ˜Ž

Bamdora:Ā Ahh okayy šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚ , what’s your superpower then?

Ebuka:Ā Nothing wey I no fit do oo

Bamdora:Ā I see, interesting… lol.Ā What is your best food?

Ebuka:Ā White Rice and Plantain with better stew

Bamdora: say na better stew šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚ mad mad . I hope you can cook sha.

Ebuka: I can cook now, all the basics.

Bamdora:Ā Hmm impressive. Basics abi excluding soup?

Ebuka:Ā I can cook Egusi and I can mentally cook bitter leaf and okro.

Bamdora:Ā MentallyĀ  šŸ˜‚

Ebuka:Ā Mentally means from watching my mom šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚. I think I know the steps

Bamdora: Okay if you say so , šŸ‘Œ I believeĀ  in you

Bamdora:Ā Okay this has been interesting so far, now time to get to some serious questions

You are popularly known as Ebuka mic, how did that name come about?

IMG_20200410_181401_011

Ebuka:Ā MIC is my initials and it goes with the microphone so…

Bamdora: Ohh I see!Ā  Hmm that makes sense. Still ‘represents’ anyhow you look at it. The C is from which name?

Ebuka:Ā Chukwuebuka lol

Bamdora:Ā Oh yeah right.Ā  How did I miss that šŸ˜…

Bamdora:Ā So Ebuka when did you first realize this entertaining gift of making people laugh?

Ebuka:Ā The gift has always been there but actively I would say JSS1

Bamdora:Ā Okay. So it’s safe to say that your first audience were your JSS1 classmates

Ebuka:Ā Ehhh I wonā€™t say first. But well somehow you also can

Bamdora:Ā Okay then. So what other things are you good at, added to bringing joy into the room ?

Ebuka:Ā Lol.Ā I am good with mouthšŸ˜‰. I mean like public speaking ošŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚. Also acting too,

Bamdora:Ā Ohh right šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚ got it šŸ˜‰ .

Acting really? Oh true you’re in CUTG! But some of my readers don’t know about CUTG, can you tell us more about it?

Ebuka:Ā CUTG is covenant University theatre group , an arm of Covenant University Chaplaincy , that paints the scriptures in pictures . They use a fusion of drama and music to preach about Christ and teach scriptures in the University chapel . That is where I serve in the chaplaincy and I act with them frequently.

Screenshot_2020-04-10-16-34-33

Bamdora:Ā  Outside CUTG have you acted anywhere else?

Ebuka:Ā  I have acted in some personal skits and even short films. One of note was AMVCA winning ā€œPenanceā€ by Michael AMA psalmist

Bamdora:Ā Oh wow , that’s a big one šŸ‘šŸ‘ welldone

Bamdora:Ā Asides these other talents you’ve listed, comedy is what you’re popularly known for. What made you take comedy seriously? What was that factor that made you feel “ok this is it, I’m going into this for real” ?

Ebuka:Ā Hmm, whatĀ  was that ‘it’ factor?Ā  Uhm well there will always be doubts when thinking of taking any big step in life. You begin to ask yourselfĀ  questions like: “are you sure you want to do this?”. It’s normal. But for me what keeps me going is any success or achievement that I have recorded at every point of this journey . And it’s what has made me sure that this is what i want to do with my life .

There’ll always be doubts but the fact that you’re succeeding at the beginning you should be sure that you’ll succeed at the end.

Bamdora: Hmm true words there. And very correct, success brings motivation for greater commitments.

But before the first success story, what prompted your first try, can you remember?

Ebuka:Ā Well, even in that case, it was the success of making a few people laugh that encouraged me to go further. But if we’re looking for an exact turning point,Ā  it was when I discovered that I could make money from this, that’s when I decided to dive into it.

Screenshot_2020-04-09-03-17-46

Bamdora: Ā How was the beginning journey like? Tough? Easy? Any remarkable moments that you can’t forget ?

Ebuka:Ā I won’t say the beginning was tough, I won’t lie I’ve enjoyed love, favour and grace from God. It’s been a good ride from one level of success to another. But I do remember a situation in the past where people underrated me, maybe because they didn’t know me. It happened in my 100 level when it was rumoured that I’d be the host for an event I think college dinner then.Ā  In actual fact, the news took me by surprise and being a 100 level student I was grateful for such recognition.

However some of the organisers were not happy with it, so there were arguments over it and they said, in which they saidĀ  some things they shouldn’t have said. Later on I hosted another show and killed it. Then one of them ( Favour) came to me to apologise for that time. But hey I think the reason I never really counted it to anyone is because I’m a grateful person. So I just took it as a case ofĀ  ‘well, they don’t know better’.

But for landmark times I’ll say when I had my first show.

Bamdora:Ā Hmm just wow. A grateful heart will always rise above the odds. I love it!

Next, was there adequate support from family and friends or other supporters (school, celebrities)?

Ebuka:Ā Well at first my parents didn’t like it . Although my mum was the first to support me, compared to my dad who didn’t like it at all. After a while though, he became passive about it, but thankfully now he’s more supportive. Besides that I’ve always had supporters, like when I newly came to CU. I remember Lanre ShonubiĀ  and how he gave me immense support; I can never forget him. And even out of CU: SLK,Ā  Phage, Omobaba to mention just a few.

Bamdora: Wow, grateful for those literal angels in our lives . So how many years have you been doing this for?

Ebuka:Ā I did my first show in JSS3 in 2011, so yeah that’s how long.

Screenshot_2020-04-09-03-15-40

Bamdora:Ā Wow 9 years in the game, that’s incredible

Ebuka, You’re currently studying ICE , any plan to use that degree?

Ebuka:Ā Yeah yeah I’ll still do ICE obviously. I don’t like wasting my time , so somewhere along the line , I’ll dabble into it,Ā  somewhere.

Bamdora:Ā Next question, has there been some ‘sweed cash’ for you in the business of making people laugh?

Ebuka:Ā  Money,Ā  yeah yeah I’ve made some money from this. That’s the fun of life you know, making money from what you enjoy doing . There’sĀ  almost nothing that can be compared to it.

Screenshot_2020-04-09-03-09-43

Bamdora: No cap there ! That satisfaction is priceless . Ā Alright lastĀ  batch of questions šŸ˜šŸ˜

Who are the big guys you look up to/ that inspire youĀ  in the industry? Also any mentors in the field ?

Ebuka:Ā I look up to many big guys both internationally and nationally there’s always something to learn from everyone . I love Chris Rock , Dave Chappelle,Ā  Eddie Murphy,Ā  Steve Harvey; and nationally: Ali baba, AY, Basket mouth I love all of them. Yeah for them to have made a mark andĀ  remained relevant this long, they’re worth emulating.

Mentors, I’ll say Omobaba becauseĀ  I perform regularly at his comedy club in lekki. So, that has given us some kind of relationship and he’s always there to help. Yeah he’s a very good mentor.

Bamdora:Ā Who would you love to work with ?!

Ebuka: I’d love to work with anybody that is creative, that is ‘mad’ . There’s no particular person I’ve been dreaming of work with. It could be anybody even underground guys … I like their energy.

Bamdora:Ā What is your greatest achievement ?

Ebuka:Ā I think that would be headlining my own showĀ  for 2 years now and having it sold out. Yeah without using anybody’s face to attract people, just my face and I’m having a full house.Ā  It’s something I’m proud of.

Bamdora:Ā Awards or recognition?

Ebuka:Ā Yeah I have won some awards although I’ve never collected some of them šŸ˜… they call them audio awards. But I won one major one this year, 1st of January for Alibaba’s spontaneity contest, that was a big one. And I’ve had some recognitions and nominations like the SMEs 25 under 25, category : Top performing artistes .

Bamdora:Ā Wow, amazing. Congratulations on them all even the audio awards šŸ˜…. Welldone šŸ‘Œ

Bamdora:Ā šŸ˜… Have you had instances of people not taking you serious because you’re a comedian?

Ebuka:Ā Lol, it always happens now, people from afar wouldn’t want to take me serious. But I’ve not really suffered it that much because I’ve tried to separate The Art from Me. So when I’m joking,Ā  I’m joking ; and when I’m serious, I’m very serious.

Bamdora: That’s right, balance is key.Ā  What do you enjoy making jokes about ? Any specifics ?

Ebuka:Ā  I like changing people’s mindset about things, so I can talk about anything but my goal is to make you see it from a different angle even though it’s funny , and basically drive home a point. But most of my jokes have been on relationship maybe because I’m singleĀ  šŸ˜‚

Screenshot_2020-04-10-16-32-44

Bamdora: Ā You’re single I see šŸ˜. Any searching plans in motion? Asking for a friend.

Ebuka:Ā Lmaooo šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚ I have searched and Iā€™m tired. About to give up

Bamdora:Ā Ahh šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚. How can it be ? The Lord will direct you don’t worry.

Bamdora: What have you learnt so far in this journey?

Ebuka:Ā If there’s anything I’ve learnt from this journey it’s : know your worth and know your value, because others may not know it. Also stick to your stuff, know who you are and what you can do. That would guide you to make the right friendships and acquaintances.

Bamdora: Facts only!Ā  So apt. What piece of advice would you give a young person trying to follow their passion?

Ebuka:Ā Ok so first,

  • Research : know the viability of what you’re chasing and see if it’s worth it. If it is, go into it.

Then understand

  • Sacrifice: remove what you don’t want to see, what you don’t really need and chase the stuff. There’ll always be something you’re juggling that passion with.Ā  So yeah research and sacrifice.

Bamdora:Ā Wow! I’ve actually learnt some one or twos myself Ebuka.

Thank you again, I’m so grateful. This has been interesting, I’ve loved every single bit of it.

Yes Bamdora fam you’ve read it all. There are a tonĀ  of questions I’d have loved to ask but this is what time could accommodate.

You can connect with him viaĀ  instagramĀ  @ebuka_mic

And also feel free to book him for any of your events , trust me you’ll have an amusing time .

Also he didn’t mention, but he recently performed in an episode of Comedy Nites with (the stellar TV personality) Ik Osakioduwa and it aired on Africa Magic.Ā  Huge deal! Congratulations to him on that, and we pray for greater heights for him in Jesus name, amen.

Bamdora fam,

Thank you for being a part of this, it means alot.

Don’t forget to comment your thoughts and share too!

Love you always šŸ˜™ā¤

16 comments

    • Thank you very much! I’m glad you visited the Bamdora blog to read this interview! šŸ˜Š
      Please subscribe for more amazing content from Bamdora šŸ’•

      Like

  1. I really loved reading this interview.
    Go girl!!! šŸ’ƒšŸ’ƒšŸ’ƒšŸ’Æ

    Ghaaad damn! Ebuka Mic is single šŸ™ˆšŸ˜­. Maddeaux šŸ˜Š

    Like

    • Ayy šŸ™ŒšŸ™Œ thank you for visiting the blog to read this interview! šŸ˜Š
      Please subscribe for more amazing content from Bamdora šŸ’•

      Like

  2. Ayyyyy…..lovec ittt….very very real and it’s almost like i was watching it….you go girlšŸ‘ŒšŸ’ƒā¤

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.